Censoring Marketeers in Facebook Timeline by Unsubscribe
You know the drill. You’re on Facebook and a friend request pops-up. She looks like your long-lost school friend or simply she looks friendly.
You checked the profile and found nothing much. The information is only shared amongst “friends”.
You accepted it and the next minute you’re bombarded with messages on the newest-most-revolutionary-money-making-without-any-work scheme on your home timeline.
And the horror of it all, she’s really a long-lost childhood friend.
How do you remedy the situation?
Unsubscibing to still remain friends
Facebook have improved a lot since. One of their best feature is the unsubscribe button.
When you clicked on the button, a list appears:
A list of options pops-out. If you’re cool about it, you can check “All Updates” and choose what types of updates.
If you don’t want to know about, go right to the bottom and checked the “Unsubscribe” option.
You’re still friends though you’ll never see the newest-most-revolutionary-money-making-without-any-work scheme.
Isn’t that great?
I used to deny request to add friend from anyone with a whiff of marketing. Some are so obvious. They use the name of whatever products as the profile name.
Now I just simply accept and if their update frequency on their products are too much, I’ll just unsubscribe.
It’s like a mute button and where’s the one in real life?